AMAZING

I know on the last post, I said this country is amazing but I have to say it again after doing a tour.

The following pictures are the ones I took yesterday.  Tonight I will edit the pictures that I took today. (Have to make them smaller so that they don’t take that long to load).

Check out the mosaic floor! It’s all marble inlaid and beautifully done. Very impressive.

SHOPPING CENTRE:  MALL of the EMIRATES.  Amazing (OK it’s my new word, especially for Dubai)  Lots and Lots of shops!  To be honest, we really didn’t see all the shops.

Here’s what was in the shopping mall….

SNOW!!  +38 outside and -45 in the enclosed ski place.  We didn’t go in so again these pictures are taken through glass….sigh.

People ski-ing, playing and enjoying the cold!

Took the Metro rail to the next shopping centre (one of the largest in the world).  NO DRIVER!!  Computerized!  (See the man in his outfit).  It cost us less than $2 each and we can use the ticket again on the same day and the next.

And so…. the we arrive at the second shopping place – DUBAI MALL – the biggest in the world.

We decided to have a milk shake…..IT WAS HUGE!  Very yummy – we need the sugar fix to keep shopping.

A huge wall with flowing water and statues of divers.  I just had to take these pictures (changing shutter speed to get lots of different shots)

BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE!

Under water zoo!  A tank of fishes (Sharks!) and scuba divers.  I didn’t fancy a swim!  The tank was 107 m long (Can’t remember how high it was but the people on the 3rd floor could see into the tank. It’s in the Guinness book of records for the largest single piece of acrylic every made.

And…. there is a SKATING RINK!

AND THE SWEETS SHOP!

Yes, the Tubes are filled with lollies!  (My grandkids would love this shop)

Some of these (handing on the tree) are as big as a pizza!

No Rob.  It won’t fit in the suitcase!  Now that is what I call a plant pot!  (Plastic)

BURJ KALIFA – THE TALLEST BUILDING IN THE WORLD.  We got close to it today so I will post those pictures in the next post.  (This was taken while we were on the train).

The following pictures taken outside the shopping centre (needed a break from shopping 🙂 )

We left the hotel at 10am and came back to the hotel at 8.30pm!  We didn’t see all of the shops in both of the Malls.  (Have to come back – now that is a good idea!)

Off to have tea and a walk.  Later I will edit today’s pictures and hopefully I will be able to post again before the day ends.

This entry was posted in Dubai and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to AMAZING

  1. pat says:

    Looks like a place I would like to tour. What do you mean to tea and then for a walk. Looks like in the pictures you have been getting your share of walking. Love the pictures. Have to get going I have to go and vote today poor choices to vote for but it is my duty to do so. Thanks for sharing.
    USA Friends
    Veryl & Pat

  2. Sharon Crosby says:

    WOW!!!!!!!

  3. Jenny says:

    I agree with you… it all looks Amazing!!! 🙂

Leave a comment